Books and I…

February 23, 2015 at 11:29 pm | Posted in I,me,myself n my life | 1 Comment

I had always been a voracious reader but in the last few years it has reached crazy proportions. I not just read but buy and read books. The last time I counted (around 2 years back) I had some 60 books which I had read and had with me, excluding the ones I had lent to people and never got back. 

By the way I hate lending my books because my books are as precious stones to me while for others they are just coloured pieces of glass (what a metaphor, eh!!!). I remember I had once lent my copy of Anita Nair’s Ladies Coupe to a friend of mine and on return I found it in a tattered condition with a phone number written in it (aaah)!!! Apparently, the book had passed through many hands before I got it back. Fellow ‘crazy book lovers’ can imagine the agony I went through then which I still haven’t forgotten. I resolved not to lend my books any more but it has been broken every time someone asks for a book because I just can’t refuse on the face.

I also confess to having a book I had borrowed but forgot to return. Another book lover friend of mine had lent me this book many years ago telling me I had to read this. I read it and totally forgot about it. Few years down the line I found the book among others and realised it was too late to return it (I was no longer in touch with that friend of mine).

Well, the tables were turned on me when a book I had lent to someone was totally forgotten in the course of moving cities. It was important (though all my books are important) to me as it was the English translation of the Malayalam novel Indulekha.

The latest book that I have read is Leela’s Book by Alice Albinia. It is a ‘genre-defying’ book. A family drama meets mythology meets historical fiction. I liked reading it despite certain ambiguities in the  relationship between the main characters but therein lies the beauty of the book.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I wonder if I could use the pressure cooker for the dam lagaana process. Click https://twitter.com/moooker1


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

